Julia's Kitchen

Nourish your body, feed your soul.

Weekend Menu and Cooking Class Update December 2, 2012

IMG_0524Hello!

I hope you are enjoying your weekend so far. Do you wonder, like I do, when we might actually get seasonal weather?

I’m planning a menu change, but I guess, like the weather, I’m lagging behind…the salad pictured is still on the menu, though soon we’ll shake it up a little, probably changing to a massaged kale salad for Winter…

So, we’ve got that, as well as all the other old standbys on our menu, plus a few specials…

We are doing the Thai Black Sticky Rice right now, and if I can convince my cooking cohorts, we’ll be switching that up soon too, just for a change:) The sticky rice is super yummy, but we’ll come up with another delicious option; right now I’m thinking chai millet with blueberries and apples and hemp seed whipped cream, but we shall see what the week brings…I’ll let you know.

Our burger is a Sprouted French Lentil and Millet Burger with the usual fixin’s

For soup, we have a delicious Cream of Broccoli, which is vegan of course. The secret ingredient is a rich cannellini bean cream. We’ve got other veggies in there too, so it has a slightly orangey hue, kind of looks like broccoli cheese soup, if you’re into that sort of thing…the bowl is served with Millet Bread and 5-Spice Carrot-Almond Pate, and you can get that as a side too.

That’s all for now, for more inspiration, come on into the cafe!

The final class of the Basics series is tomorrow (Sunday) at 4:30pm. We’ve still got a spot or 2, if you’d like to drop in. Because we are expanding the cafe hours to serve dinner very soon, future cooking classes will be available and will be taught in a similar format, but in a home kitchen. I can accommodate small classes in my little galley kitchen and, in fact, like to teach there because it’s proof that you don’t need a big, fancy kitchen in order to cook delicious, healthy food for your family. I’m also open to teaching at someone else’s home if there is a volunteer host. It’s always fun to put a class together with friends…And, I love to do one-on-one or small group consultations and Pantry Overhauls!

In light of all of that and a few other things, the Baking Class that was proposed for next Sunday is being tabled. I know we had a good class-full interested, so I am open to coming up with a way to teach at another time and space, most likely during the school day, though I know that’s tricky for many.

I hope you enjoy the rest of your weekend in peace and good health.

 

Leave a comment