Julia's Kitchen

Nourish your body, feed your soul.

Ginger-Molasses Crinkles October 31, 2019

Filed under: Uncategorized — adaba @ 4:18 am

Good evening!

All these cozy, Wintery days are perfect for baking and it’s feeling more like the Winter holidays than Halloween! I’m trying to stay focused on getting the core Julia’s Kitchen recipes ready for my cookbook, but I couldn’t help a little cookie experimentation this evening because I’ve been craving these for the past couple of days. They are pretty quick to make, especially since I had some grated ginger left from another recipe and all the other ingredients on hand.

A version of these cookies is one of my holiday favorites – my mom used to bake raspberry jelly into the center and they were absolutely the best. They were chewy on the inside and a bit crunchy on the outside, and the jelly in the center bumped them up right over the top. I actually forgot about the jelly until just now and you’d better believe that I pulled some of my yet-to-be-baked cookies out of the freezer and loaded them up with raspberry jam.

I wanted to make my own version that is more nutrient-dense and health supportive than the original, but still fulfills that chewy center, crispy outside requirement. I used half sprouted and dehydrated almonds and half sprouted and dehydrated buckwheat and ground them as finely as I could for the flour. You can find other options in the recipe and notes. I also used blackstrap molasses where typically a lighter, more gently-flavored molasses would be used, and coconut sugar because I like its more complex flavor.

If you aren’t in a baking mood or don’t have the time and you want to help me out, I’d love to have some people taste the cookies I made and give me some feedback since this was a first run through and I might be emotionally biased. Let me know if you are interested:)

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 cup sprouted and dehydrated almonds (see other options below)
  • 1 cup sprouted and dehydrated buckwheat (see other options below)
  • ¾ teaspoon baking soda
  • ¾ teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 Tablespoons grated fresh ginger (or you can blend an inch or two of ginger up with the coconut oil and other liquids if you have a high-powdered blender)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 cup unrefined coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup coconut sugar
  • 3 tablespoons blackstrap molasses
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon water or other liquid
  1. Grind the almonds and buckwheat into flour in a Vitamix.
  2. Transfer the flour to a medium bowl and stir the baking soda, baking powder, ginger, cinnamon, and salt in, breaking up any lumps, then set aside. 
  3. Put the coconut oil, coconut sugar, molasses, vanilla, and water into the vitamix and blend until smooth. 
  4. Pour the coconut oil mixture into the flour mixture and stir gently until combined.
  5. Refrigerate the dough for 30 minutes to an hour. 
  6. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. 
  7. Portion about 1 Tablespoon per cookie (using a scoop or 2 spoons) onto 2 oiled or parchment lined cookie sheets. 
  8. Bake for 8 minutes, or until the cookies have puffed slightly and deflated – this is what will give them that signature crinkly look and yummy texture. 
  9. Allow to cool on the baking sheet for 10-15 minutes, then use a square spatula to remove them for eating or storage.

Options:

  • It’s great to have sprouted and dehydrated nuts and grains on hand, but you may not be in that position (yet). You may be able to find both sprouted and dehydrated almonds and buckwheat at your local health food store. If not and you don’t have a dehydrator, you can soak/sprout them and then dry them or toast them at a low temperature in your oven. Alternatively, you can use pre-ground flours. In that case, I would think any grain flour would work to replace the buckwheat. Just don’t use coconut flour…
  • Sprinkle the cookies with coconut sugar (or with unrefined cane sugar for a more traditional look). 
  • Make the dough ahead of time, portion the cookies, and store them in the freezer. Bake from frozen for about 10 minutes. 
  • Make an indentation in the center of each cookie and fill with fruit puree or fruit-only jam. The cookies will spread so the shape won’t remain, but the jelly will bake in and be delicious.
 

2 Responses to “Ginger-Molasses Crinkles”

  1. Mar Nevar Says:

    Omg! I love this cookie combo. I’ll try!!!

    Cheers •Mari

    >

  2. bj bachman Says:

    Hey Julia! Bj & bob from aurora would LOve to taste test!!! Can u email them? Hahaha🥰

    Sent from my iPhone

    >


Leave a comment